To be a nurse in Finland- “Here many become nurses to find a work early”

First I would like to say you: thank you very much for accepting to be interview! Questions:

1)      So, Hello! What year of study are you attending and where? Hey! I’m third year student from Finland: Pori, Satakunta University of Applied Sciences. At the moment I’m exchange for 6 months in London, Middlesex Uni.

2)      How do you become a nurse in Finland? To become nurse in Finland: AT first you have to apply or Uni, the second you have to get your way through to entrance test. The most suitable ones will pass the test and can study as a nurse. It takes 3,5 years to get qualification. In the school: the professors are mainly nurses or public health nurses with mastres of teaching but some of the lecturers are doctors. We don’t have that specializing thing anymore. (With the last practice you can kind of specialize but you have totally free hands when you go to working life.)

3)      Do you do any internship during your training? How does it work? We have all together 52 weeks of practice, (if I counted that right :D) different fields of nursing and splitted in smaller periods, 40 hours per week. What it comes to internship if you are lucky and get contract with the hospital you can get paid from your last practices but usually we don’t get paid. We have 2 mentors in practice with whom we are working with and we are making our off duty regarding their schedules. That means that we are training on bank holidays, weekends and nights as well.

4)      When you become a nurse, can you chose in which ward you want to work? We can choose any kind of wards from any kind of field of nursing.  

5)      How are floor organized in Finland? How many nurses and how many patients? It depends on the ward type how many patients there is for a nurse. In ICU there can be on only 2 patients per one nurse, but in mentally health unit there might be 6 patients per nurse… It depends so much on what kind of ward it is.

6)      How does the public opinion talk about nurses? Are they “well considered” or not? (by the way, in Italy they are not). There’s a lot of people that wants to become a nurse? I think public is respecting nurses quite well and most of the cases. But of course not as much as doctors😀 There is still some people who are whining with everything…
I think that because of work more people want to study as nurse because when you get qualification you get job easily. Every year Unis have maximum amount of student nurses and many have to disappoint that they didn’t get study place. But I don’t have glue about numbers…:(

7)      How is the relationship with doctors? What I’ve seen the nurses do quite much of doctor’s work in Finland. And doctors counts on nurse’s opinion so there’s quite close relationship and mutual respect.

8)      Is there something you don’t like in your formative process?Can’t think of any right now

9)      Now you’re doing an internship here in London: how is it? It differs from Finland? Yep, Im doing 3 practices in here, not any studies… There is many differences in hospitals compering to Finland. I just mention main things. First of all mentor-student relationship is lot deeper in Finland and that was a little shock for me at first when I get here. I think in Finland the care of the patients is more patient orientated, more individual, more modern and more hygienic/aseptic than in England. When it comes to dealing with medications it’s different than in back home as well….

Thank you very much for your answers and hope it wasn’t’ so long!!


10 commenti to “To be a nurse in Finland- “Here many become nurses to find a work early””

  1. I found this interesting because I spent 5 years as a medical editor for Chiang Mai University Hospital. But that’s really all I can say, is that (1) it’s interesting and (2) hello.

  2. thank you very much! We are italian nurses students and we are very interested in knowing how it works in other countries..what about Thailand? it sounds amazing!

  3. I needed to thank you for this very good read!! I definitely enjoyed every bit of it.
    I have you book-marked to look at new things you post…

  4. Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads
    up. The text in your article seem to be running off the screen in Internet explorer.
    I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to
    let you know. The style and design look great though!
    Hope you get the issue solved soon. Many thanks

  5. It’s an remarkable piece of writing in support of all the online users; they will take benefit from it I am sure.

  6. Hey! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering
    which blog platform are you using for this site?

    I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had problems with
    hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  7. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this site. It’s simple, yet effective.
    A lot of times it’s tough to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appeal. I must say you’ve done a very good
    job with this. Also, the blog loads extremely quick for me on Opera.
    Outstanding Blog!

  8. Fascinating blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it
    from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my blog shine.

    Please let me know where you got your design. Many thanks

  9. Magnificent beat ! I would like to apprentice at the
    same time as you amend your site, how could i subscribe for a weblog web site?
    The account aided me a applicable deal. I were a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered
    vivid transparent idea

  10. What’s Happening i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve found It positively useful and it has aided me out loads.
    I hope to give a contribution & help different users like its helped me.
    Great job.

Lascia un commento

